Back to Top

State Convention 2020 update

The Libertarian Party of Texas held their State convention in Big Spring August 1rst and 2d.

There were over 100 seated delegates and alternates present, and between 50-70 online.

Navarro County had it's full allotment of delegates present at the convention, with one alternate.


The convention was presided over by LPTexas State Chair, John Wilford.


After working out a few initial glitches,online delegates were fully able to participate in convention business.


Kerry Douglas McKennon was nominated for US Senate, running against John Cornyn's seat in November.


New State leadership was elected:

Whitney Bilyeu, State Party Chair

Bekah Congdon, Vice Chair

Kath Prather, State Treasurer

Stephanie Weiss, State Secretary.


Tommy Attaway of Johnson County and Paul Keefer of Ellis county were elected State Libertarian Executive Committee representatives for Senate District 22.


Changes were made to the State platform and rules.


The Convention adjourned on Sunday, then the newly elected State Libertarian Executive Committee held a meeting immediately after.


Many thanks to the Mayor of Big Spring, Shannon Thomason, for inviting the LP of Texas to hold it's convention there, and being a gracious host.


Committee to Elect Melanie Black
Powered by - Political Websites
Close Menu